Scots at the Olympics

July 19, 2021

The delayed 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games begins on Friday, with 53 Scots and four additional reserves travelling as part of Team GB.

A twelve-strong Scots contingent form part of the athletics team, including past Team Scotland athletes Callum Hawkins, Eilish McColgan, Jake Wightman, Laura Muir, Stephanie Twell and Zoey Clark.

Kirsty Gilmour, two-time Commonwealth Games medallist, will compete in her second consecutive Olympics as part of the Badminton contingent.

Katie Archibald, Neah Evans and Jack Carlin are amongst five Cycling Scots, whilst in the pool Divers Grace Reid and James Heatly are joined by Swimmers Cassie Wild, Duncan Scott, Kathleen Dawson, Lucy Hope and Ross Murdoch, who all competed at the Gold Coast in 2018.

In Hockey Sarah Robertson is part of the women’s squad, with Amy Costello and Alan Forsyth both selected as reserves.

Sarah Adlington, gold medallist at Glasgow 2014, makes her Olympic debut in Judo after agonisingly missing out in 2012 and 2016.

The Rugby 7s squad is bolstered by a strong Scots contingent including Gold Coast participants Max McFarland and Robbie Fergusson, while Seonaid McIntosh will make her first appearance at an Olympic Games.

In tennis Jamie Murray, who featured at the Dehli Commonwealth Games in 2010, is a late addition to the team, making it four Olympic Games appearances in a row.

The full Scots contingent can be found below.


Andrew Buchart, Callum Hawkins, Eilish McColgan, Jake Wightman, Jemma Reekie, Josh Kerr, Laura Muir, Stephanie Davis, Stephanie Twell, Beth Dobbin, Nicole Yeargin, Zoey Clark.


Kirsty Gilmour


Bradley Forbes-Cryans, Deborah Kerr, Katie Reid-Forbes


Anna Shackley, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Katie Archibald, Neah Evans, Jack Carlin


Grace Reid, James Heatly


Scott Brash MBE


Caroline Weir, Kim Little


Sarah Robertson, Alan Forsyth (reserve), Amy Costello (reserve)


Sarah Adlington

Modern Pentathalon

Johanna Muir


Angus Groom, Harry Leask, Karen Bennett, Katherine Douglas, Lucy Glover, Polly Swann, Rowan McKellar, Sholto Carnegie, Maddie Arlett (spare).

Rugby 7s

Alex Coombes, Max McFarland, Robbie Fergusson, Ross McCann, Hannah Smith, Lisa Thomson (reserve).


Anna Burnett, Charlotte Dobson, Luke Patience


Seonaid McIntosh


Cassie Wild, Duncan Scott, Kathleen Dawson, Lucy Hope, Ross Murdoch.


Andy Murray, Jamie Murray

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter