Vote for Your Sporting Moment of 2023

October 25, 2023

With The Scottish Sports Awards just over a month away, Team Scotland, in partnership with sportscotland, is excited to announce the launch of the Sporting Moment of the Year 2023 public vote.


From the standout moments at World and European championships to last minute victories snatched from the jaws of defeat, Scotland’s sporting stars have thrilled and inspired throughout the year in an impressive array of sports.

Ten top Scottish sporting moments have been shortlisted by our judges, with the winner to be determined by an online public vote. The award will go to the sporting performance over the last 12 months that has captured the hearts of the nation.

Will it be Duhan van der Merwe’s sensational try against England in the Six Nations Calcutta Cup victory, Caledonia Gladiators’ buzzer-beating win in the British Basketball League Trophy final, Glasgow City’s last-minute title-winner at Ibrox in the Scottish Women’s Premier League, Scotland’s 7-wicket victory over West Indies in the ICC World Cup Qualifier or Scotland’s late win over Norway in the Men’s UEFA European Championships Qualification match in Oslo that takes the title?

Or perhaps one of the standout moments as Scottish athletes claimed global titles: Beth Potter’s championship-winning performance at the World Triathlon Championships Finals in Pontevedra, Spain, Josh Kerr’s World Championship-winning finish in the World Athletics Championship 1500m Final, Fin Graham’s sixth medal of the UCI World Cycling Championships, defending his C3 Road Race title in the Scottish rain, Team Mouat’s World Championship win over host nation Canada or Sammi Kinghorn’s World Para Athletics Championship gold medal win, defeating both the defending champion and Paralympic champion.

Each of these moments has made Scotland proud, but which deserves to take the title of Sporting Moment of the Year 2023?

Register your vote in our Online Poll

Voting will close at 5pm on Wednesday 1 November with the winner to be revealed at The Scottish Sports Awards on Thursday 7 December.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter