Shortlists Revealed for The Scottish Sports Awards 2022

October 27, 2022

Team Scotland and sportscotland are delighted to reveal the shortlists for The Scottish Sports Awards 2022.

In a year packed with success at the Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games, Commonwealth Games and other events at home and abroad, the competition will be fierce.

The winner of the Female, Male, Para-Athlete, Team and Young Athlete categories will contest for the overall title of Scotland’s Sportsperson of the Year. We will also welcome the latest inductee to the Scottish Sports Hall of Fame, incorporated for the first time into the awards night.

Held at the prestigious Edinburgh International Conference Centre, guests will be treated to live entertainment and a three-course meal, as well as rubbing shoulders with the great and the good of Scottish Sport.

Proceeds from the night will be donated to the Team Scotland Youth Trust.


Female Athlete of the Year: Sarah Adlington (Judo), Neah Evans (Cycling), Eilish McColgan (Athletics), Laura Muir (Athletics).

Male Athlete of the Year: Jack Carlin (Cycling), Sam Hickey (Boxing), Duncan Scott MBE, Jake Wightman.

Para Athlete of the Year: Stephen Clegg (Swimming), Sean Frame (Athletics), Neil Simpson MBE with Andrew Simpson MBE (Skiing), Neil Fachie OBE with Lewis Stewart (Cycling).

Young Athlete of the Year: Niamh Mitchell (Boxing), Kirsty Muir (Skiing), Katie Shanahan (Swimming), Toni Shaw (Swimming).

Team of the Year: Robert Barr, Sarah Jane Ewing, Melanie Inness, George Miller (Para Lawn Bowls); Garry Brown and Kevin Wallace; Rosemary Lenton and Pauline Wilson (Para Lawn Bowls); Greg Lobban and Rory Stewart (Squash); Eve Muirhead OBE, Jennifer Dodds MBE, Mili Smith MBE, Hailey Duff MBE, Vicky Drummond MBE (nee Wright) (Curling); James Heatly and Grace Reid (Diving).

Moment of the Year: Louise Christie’s silver-medal winning ‘Braveheart’ performance; Tyler Jolly’s 11-second knock-out at Birmingham 2022; Eilish McColgan winning 10,000m gold at Birmingham 2022; Team Muirhead’s gold medal performance at the Beijing Olympic Games; Laura Muir making it three medals from three majors with European gold; Ross Murdoch coming back from retirement to win a Commonwealth Games bronze medal; Jake Wightman becoming World Champion in Eugene; Micky Yule bringing his daughter onto the podium after winning Commonwealth bronze.

Coach of the Year: Bob Christie (Para Lawn Bowls), Craig McEvoy (Boxing), David Murdoch (Curling), Steve Tigg (Swimming).

Sport Governing Body Award: Scottish Cycling, Scottish Handball Association, Scottish Hockey, Scottish Squash.

Club Sport Award: Ayr United Women and Girls Club, Biggar Netball Club, Falkirk Junior Bike Club, Hamilton Judo Club.

School Sport Award: Arran High School, Balfron High School, Kirkcaldy High School, Rosebank Primary School.

Community Hero Award: Kiana Coutts, Graeme Doig, Graham Harvey, Raza Sadiq.

Sustainability in Scottish Sport Award: Aberdeenshire Sailing Trust, Adventure Oban, GEO Foundation, Ullapool Community Sports Hub Feel Good Festival.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter