Up-and-coming athletes and coaches will enjoy a multi-games experience in Birmingham later this month as part of the 2022 Achieve programme.

They will be supported by a network of mentors with an impressive range of backgrounds and experiences to call on.

Travelling to Birmingham in two groups, the participants will get a feel for a large Games environment, from attending sport sessions to taking part in bespoke workshops.

First run in 2010, when 45 young athletes and coaches travelled to the Dehli Commonwealth Games, Achieve has since seen a further 90 participants go through the programme. Many have since made the step-up to compete or coach for Team Scotland at a Commonwealth Games.

The scheme, supported by the Team Scotland Youth Trust and sportscotland, aims to propel more future stars into sporting success, whilst helping them develop a host of vital and transferrable skills.

The programme is led by Achieve Director Kevin Moran, who participated in Achieve 2010 before representing Team Scotland in Squash at Glasgow 2014 and Gold Coast 2018.

Kevin said: “We are delighted to welcome the 66 athletes and coaches onto Achieve 2022.

“The Achieve Programme has the potential to be a really significant step in the development of some of Scotland’s up and coming athletes and coaches, showing what it takes to be part of Team Scotland.

“It was a significant stage in my progression as an athlete and I’m sure the participants will get as much out of it as I did.

“We have a really strong mentor group from a diverse range of backgrounds who will pass on their knowledge and experience, and the schedule of activities will be enjoyable and challenging for the participants.

“We look forward to seeing everyone in Birmingham.”

Jon Doig, Chief Executive Officer of Commonwealth Games Scotland, said: “I’d like to extend my welcome to the participants and mentors.

“Your first Games experience can be a step into the unknown, so this programme is a key part of our strategy to prepare athletes and support staff to perform for Team Scotland at future events.

“Importantly it also develops a lot of key core skills, so even if the athletes and coaches never make that final step, they will still hugely benefit from their experience at Birmingham 2022.”

Gavin Hastings, Chair of Team Scotland Youth Trust, said: “Congratulations to the aspiring athletes and coaches on their selection.

“The Team Scotland Youth Trust exists to support the next generation of athletes on their sporting journey, and the Achieve Programme can be a key part of that development.

“We look forward to seeing them in Birmingham.”


Aquatics (Swimming): Lucy Grieve, Jack Milne, Bruce Halloran (Coach)

Aquatics (Diving): Libby Duke

Archery: Phyllis Pettett (Coach)

Athletics: Alessandro Schenini, Allan Hamilton (Coach)

Para-athletics: Adam Donnachie, Freya Howgate

Badminton: Rachel Andrew, Jack MacGregor

Basketball: Ronnie Cassels, Zoe Sharp, Mark Stevenson (Coach)

Beach Volleyball: Ben McHardy, Rachel Morrison

Boxing: Aaron Cullen, Brooke Neely, James Paton (Coach)

Canoeing: Ben Gallacher, Sam Leaver

Cricket: Megan McColl, Charis Scott

Cycling: Kirsty Johnston, Calum Moir, Emily Carrick Anderson, Reuben Oakley, Stevie Crowther (Coach)

Fencing: Salma Ahmad

Gymnastics (Artistic): Euan McLellan, Lauren Graham (Coach), Stephen Tonge (Coach)

Gymnastics (Rhythm): Laura Donaldson (Coach)

Hockey: Mhairi Low, Calum Douglas, Kelly Fillingham (Coach)

Judo: Sunny Doig, Gregor Miller, David Scobbie (Coach)

Lawn Bowls: Aaron Betts, Danny Porter, Beth Riva

Netball: Jazmine Moore, Gillian Thomson, Rachel Cremin (Coach)

Rowing: Amy Newton

Rugby 7s: April McKenzie, Andy Mclean, Sarah Hogwood (Coach)

Shooting: Lucy Evans

Squash: Andrew Glen, Beth Moglia, Lucy Murchie, Matt Bedwell (Coach)

Table Tennis: Danny Bajaw, Paula Callaghan, Callum Riddoch (Coach)

Triathlon: Struan Bennet, Isla Hedley, Fiona Maurer (Coach)

Weightlifting: Aiden Sheeran, Ross Sinclair, Nicola Grant (Coach)

Wrestling: Brandon English, Tracy Connell (Coach)

Achieve Director

Kevin Moran


Kieran Achara MBE (Lead Mentor), Ailsa Wylie, Bob Easson, Cameron Broadie, Ciaran O’Brien, Emma Brunning, Gillian Sanders, Jay Runga, Jenny Davis, Kaz Cuthbert, Megan Richardson, Ross Walker, Seonaid McIntosh.

For more information please email

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter