Scottish Sports Awards Finalists Revealed

October 23, 2023

Team Scotland and sportscotland are delighted to reveal the shortlists for The Scottish Sports Awards 2023.

In a year packed with success at the highest level for our established stars and teams, and young athletes making their mark at the Commonwealth Youth Games and beyond, the competition will be fierce.

The winner of the Female, Male, Para-Athlete, Team and Young Athlete categories will contest for the overall title of Scotland’s Sportsperson of the Year.

We will also welcome the latest inductees to the Scottish Sports Hall of Fame, taking the number of Scottish sporting legends recognised in this way past the 100 mark for the first time.

Held in a new format at the Glasgow Science Centre, guests will be treated to a night of celebration and a chance to revel in the stories and moments of the year on the biggest screen in Scotland, as well as rubbing shoulders with the great and the good of Scottish Sport.

Proceeds from the night will be donated to the Team Scotland Youth Trust.


Female Athlete of the Year: Katie Archibald MBE (Cycling), Seonaid McIntosh (Shooting), Beth Potter (Triathlon)

Male Athlete of the Year: Josh Kerr (Athletics), Robert MacIntyre (Golf), Duncan Scott MBE (Swimming)

Para Athlete of the Year: Stephen Clegg (Swimming), Sammi Kinghorn MBE (Athletics), Neil Fachie OBE (Cycling)

Young Athlete of the Year: Kirsty Muir (Skiing), Ben Sandilands (Athletics), Matthew Ward (Swimming)

Team of the Year: Scotland Men’s National Team (Football), Team Mouat (Curling), Team Scotland Trinbago 2023 Rugby 7s (Rugby)

Moment of the Year: Duhan van der Merwe’s sensational try against England in the Six Nations Calcutta Cup victory, Caledonia Gladiators’ buzzer-beating win in the British Basketball League Trophy final, Glasgow City’s last-minute title-winner at Ibrox in the Scottish Women’s Premier League, Beth Potter’s championship-winning performance at the World Triathlon Championships Finals in Pontevedra, Spain, Josh Kerr’s World Championship-winning finish in the World Athletics Championship 1500m Final, Scotland’s 7-wicket victory over West Indies in the ICC World Cup Qualifier, Fin Graham’s sixth medal of the UCI World Cycling Championships, defending his C3 Road Race title in the Scottish rain, Scotland’s late win over Norway in the Men’s UEFA European Championships Qualification match in Oslo, Team Mouat’s World Championship win over host nation Canada, Sammi Kinghorn’s World Para Athletics Championship gold medal win, defeating both the defending champion and Paralympic champion.

Coach of the Year: Steve Clarke (Football), Steve Doig (Athletics), Gareth Murray (Basketball)

Scottish Governing Body Award: Scottish Athletics, Scottish Cycling, Scottish Disability Sport

Club Sport Award: Active Life Club, FC United Powerchair Football Club, Inverness Tennis and Squash Club

School Sport Award: Oaklands School, Perth Grammar School, Stirling Inclusion Support Service

Community Hero Award: Karen Kelly, Ruby McDonald, Billy Roberton

Sustainability in Scottish Sport Award: Aberfeldy Middle Distance Triathlon, Anna Burnet with John Gimson (Sailing), Scottish Student Sport

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter