Grand Slam for Tennis as Andy Murray Scoops Top Prize

September 28, 2016

Following an outstanding season that saw him lift a second Wimbledon crown, become the first player to defend an Olympic singles title and help Britain to a historic first Davis Cup win for 79 years, Andy Murray added another accolade, as winner of the Emirates Lonsdale Trophy and 2016 Scottish Sportsperson of the Year at the Team Scotland Scottish Sports Awards in Edinburgh last night (28 Sep).

With more than 50 Scottish Olympians and Paralympians from the recent Games in Rio in attendance, the evening was a star-studded celebration of their outstanding achievements as well as the success of individuals, schools, clubs and teams across the whole of Scottish sport.

It is the third time that Murray has scooped the top award, first taking the title jointly with Sir Chris Hoy in 2012 after London Olympic gold and claiming the title outright the following year after his first Wimbledon title. Fittingly his third triumph comes in a year which saw a repeat of both these achievements, along with a record fifth Queen’s Club title and other notable firsts, including becoming the first British man to reach the French Open final since 1937. Indeed it was a special night for tennis, with Britain’s Davis Cup Team named Team of the Year, and Gordon Reid Para-sport Athlete of the Year, following a first Grand Slam singles title at the Australian Open, Wimbledon singles and doubles titles and Paralympic gold and silver.

Andy Murray said: “It has been a fantastic season for me winning Wimbledon and retaining my Olympic title and I am delighted to be awarded the 2016 Scottish Sportsperson of the Year Award for the third time, particularly given all the incredible performances by other Scots this year.”

Heather Stanning’s five year winning streak in the coxless pairs, culminating in a second Olympic gold in Rio with Helen Glover, gave her the nod for Female Athlete of the Year ahead of fellow rower Katherine Grainger and cyclist Katie Archibald, while Grainger’s outstanding achievements over a long and illustrious career were also recognised with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Just beginning her career at 16 years old, triple Paralympic medallist in athletics, Maria Lyle, took the Sir Peter Heatly Trophy for the Young Athlete of the Year.

One of the most eagerly anticipated results of the night was Sporting Moment of the Year, after thousands cast their vote in an online poll, and it was Hibernian’s last minute winner to lift the Scottish Cup after a 114 year wait that took the glory.

Alongside the achievements of Scotland’s top athletes and teams, the individuals and organisations driving this success were also honoured. Ben Higson and Steven Tigg jointly took Coach of the Year in recognition of the phenomenal success of their group of University of Stirling swimmers, whilethe late Richard Thomas was named Sports Leader of the Year, his input at Boxing Scotland, prior to his sudden passing in March, leading to a complete renaissance of the sport.

A record year for scottishathletics saw them claim the award for Governing Body of the Year, while Aviemore Community Sports Hub and Scottish Disability Sport’s Disability Inclusion Training programme were the winners of Community Sports Hub, Club or School of the Year and the Legacy 2014 Award respectively.

In a poignant presentation, Team Scotland judoka and Commonwealth Games silver medallist Steph Inglis was named Team Scot of the Year, following her incredible recovery from life-threatening head injuries sustained in a motorbike accident while teaching youngsters in Vietnam.

In the other big news of the night, Clyde, the face of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games, was revealed as the new Team Scotland mascot. Following his big entrance on the night, the popular figure is back in a new role, cheering on Team Scotland all the way to Gold Coast 2018 and beyond.

Paul Bush OBE, Chair of Commonwealth Games Scotland, said: “These Awards in their new format have been a resounding success as we celebrate what has been a truly outstanding year for Scottish sport. The phenomenal achievements of 2016 auger well as we look ahead to the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in 18 months’ time, where many of these athletes will go for gold for Team Scotland.

“A huge thank you to our sponsors, whose support has made this fantastic event possible and enables us to properly recognise the achievements of the individuals, teams and organisations that help to put Scotland on the sporting map.”

Over 600 people joined the celebrations at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre, where the evening was hosted by double Olympic Gold medallist Shirley Robertson, OBE and comedian Fred MacAulay.

Award Winners

Scottish Sportsperson of the Year – Emirates Lonsdale Trophy

Andy Murray OBE, Tennis

Male Athlete of the Year – sponsored by Commonwealth Games Scotland

Andy Murray OBE, Tennis

Female Athlete of the Year – sponsored by EDF Energy

Heather Stanning MBE, Rowing

Para-Sport Athlete of the Year – sponsored by CGI

Gordon Reid, Wheelchair Tennis

Team of the Year – sponsored by PSL / Canterbury

GB Davis Cup Team, Tennis

Coach of the Year – sponsored by University of Stirling

Ben Higson & Steven Tigg, Swimming

Sporting Moment of the Year – sponsored by The Scottish Sun

Hibs score last minute goal to end 114 year wait for a Scottish Cup title – Football

Young Athlete of the Year – sponsored by EDF Energy

Maria Lyle, Para-Athletics

Sports Leader of the Year – sponsored by Brand Oath

Richard Thomas, Boxing

Governing Body of the Year – sponsored by Bluefin Sport

Scottish Athletics

Community Hub, Club or School of the Year – sponsored by sportscotland

Aviemore Community Sports Hub

Legacy 2014 Award – sponsored by Legacy 2014

SDS Disability Inclusion Training

Lifetime Achievement – sponsored by Commonwealth Games Scotland

Katherine Grainger CBE, Rowing

Team Scot of the Year – sponsored by European Championships 2018

Steph Inglis, Judo

For more information on the 2016 Team Scotland Scottish Sports Awards visit

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter