Glasgow 2014’s Athletes’ Committee appoints new members

July 6, 2011

The Athletes’ Advisory Committee (AAC) for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games has appointed three new members as the Committee broadens its expertise. Congratulations to badminton player Susan Egelstaff, squash player Frania Gillen-Buchert and shooter Neil Stirton, all experienced members of Team Scotland.

Offering advice over the next three years to the Glasgow 2014 Board and Organising Committee (OC), the AAC will be responsible for providing an athlete perspective for the Games and will play a crucial advisory role in relation to Games planning. The AAC will become a key component in supporting the OC achieve its vision of a truly athlete centred and sport focused Games.

The AAC, which now has eight members, is made up of current Scottish athletes who are aiming to compete at Glasgow 2014 and former Scottish athletes who have a vast experience in competing at Commonwealth, Olympic and Paralympic Games. It is chaired by former Scottish international hockey player Rhona Simpson, who competed in three Commonwealth Games (1998, 2002 and 2006) and twice represented Great Britain at the Summer Olympics (1996 and 2000).

Susan Egelstaff is currently the highest ranked female singles badminton player in the United Kingdom. Susan has competed for Scotland at three Commonwealth Games (2002, 2006 and 2010) securing a team bronze medal in 2002 and a singles bronze in 2006.
Neil Stirton, is a current Scottish international shooter and has competed at two Commonwealth Games (2006, 2010) in the smallbore rifle prone and three position events. He secured a silver medal in Melbourne 2006, going one better to secure gold in Delhi 2010, along with partner Jonathon Hammond. The pair also secured bronze in Delhi 2010, providing Neil with a full set of medals across two Games.

Frania Gillen-Buchert, is a current Scottish international squash player. Frania has competed at two Commonwealth Games (2006 and 2010), in both singles and doubles events. Frania also works with Judo Scotland, providing a multi-sport perspective to the group.

They join former international hammer thrower Shirley Adison (nee Webb), former international swimmer Todd Cooper, Steve Frew, a former international gymnast and Commonwealth Games gold medallist, and Paralympic track cycling double gold medallist Aileen McGlynn MBE.

The AAC will provide a perspective on behalf of all athletes and will make a number of recommendations to the Board and OC over the next three years that will help shape the overall Games experience for all athletes coming to Glasgow in 2014.

Delighted with her appointment Susan Egelstaff, said: “It’s really exciting to be involved in the preparations for Glasgow 2014 as a member of the Athletes’ Advisory Committee, which will benefit not only myself but all the athletes coming from the Commonwealth for the Games in 2014.

“We will work closely with the Organising Committee and the Board over the next three years to ensure that athletes are represented and we will be consulted on a number of issues that will affect us all in 2014. I can’t wait to see all the work coming together to produce a fantastic Games and I can’t wait to play in front of my home crowd in Glasgow.”

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter