Aquatics Image


Youth Games

Aquatics in the Commonwealth Youth Games

Aquatics consists of the disciplines of Swimming and Diving. Swimming is a core sport in the Commonwealth Youth Games and must be included on the sports programme of every Games. Diving is an optional sport for the Youth Games and has not yet been contested.

Swimming is Scotland’s most successful sport at the Commonwealth Youth Games, both in terms of medals won and the number of athletes progressing on to compete for Team Scotland at a senior Commonwealth Games.

All Aquatics events are conducted according to the rules of the International Aquatic Federation (FINA).

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Youth Games 6
  • First Youth Games Edinburgh 2000
  • Most Recent Youth Games Bahamas 2017
Team Scotland’s Aquatics Medal Count:
View Medallists
  • Total: 75
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Scott McLay is Scotland’s most successful Youth Games swimmer with three gold, one silver and a bronze in 2017.

  • Commonwealth Games medallists Hannah Miley, Robbie Renwick, Andrew Hunter, Todd Cooper Lewis Smith and Kirsty Balfour all competed at the Commonwealth Youth Games.

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

The Swimming competition at the Commonwealth Youth Games is open to men 15-18 years of age (athletes born in 1999, 2000, 2001 & 2002) and women 14-17 years of age (athletes born in 2000, 2001, 2002 & 2003).

There are five individual disciplines – Freestyle, Backstroke, Breaststroke, Butterfly and Individual Medley with distances ranging from 50m -1500m. Each country can enter a maximum of two athletes per individual event and one team per relay event.

Learn More