Rugby 7s Medal Count

Total: 0
Gold Medals


Silver Medals


Bronze Medals


View medallists
Kuala Lumpur 1998
Trinidad & Tobago 2023

Rugby 7s

Rugby 7s is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games and made its debut in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, but Manchester in 2002 was the first occasion Scotland entered a team. Rugby 7s is also approved by the IOC as an Olympic sport and made its debut in 2016.

Rugby 7s is a variant of Rugby Union in which only seven players per side participate in the match. It is a fast, open, exciting game, which highlights all the skills involved in the game of Rugby. Sevens is sanctioned by World Rugby and is played under substantially the same rules, and on a field of the same dimensions as the 15-player game.

Rugby 7s has been included in the Commonwealth Youth Games on four occasions: 2004, 2011, 2015 and 2017.

Commonwealth Games Rugby 7s competition is held in accordance with the Laws of World Rugby and follows a format similar to that of all Rugby 7s World Series events.

Follow Team Scotland on

Did you know?

Team Scotland

Women’s Rugby Sevens made its debut at the Gold Coast 2018 Games.

Team Scotland

At Glasgow 2014, Rugby Sevens drew a total of 171,000 spectators - a record not just for a Commonwealth Games, but also the highest ever attendance at an internationally sanctioned rugby event at the time.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter