Hockey Medal Count

Total: 0
Gold Medals


Silver Medals


Bronze Medals


View medallists
Kuala Lumpur 1998
Birmingham 2022


Hockey is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games and has been included in every Games since its debut at Kuala Lumpur 1998.

Played between two teams of 18, with 11 players per team allowed on the pitch at any one time, a game is divided into two 35 minute periods, with a ten minute interval in between. Modern Hockey is played on synthetic water based pitches.

Hockey was included at the inaugural Commonwealth Youth Games in Edinburgh in 2000. This is the sport’s only appearance at a Youth Games to date.

Hockey competitions are run according to the rules of the International Hockey Federation (FIH).

Follow Team Scotland on

Did you know?

Team Scotland

Australia's men have dominated the sport, winning gold at every Games to date. Their women have won gold on all but two occasions – silver at Gold Coast 2018 and bronze in 2002.

Team Scotland

Scotland's highest placing in Hockey was a 5th place finish by the women's team at Melbourne 2006.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter