Rugby 7s Teams Announced for Birmingham 2022

July 8, 2022

Commonwealth Games Scotland has today announced the squad selected for the Team Scotland men’s and women’s Rugby Sevens, who will compete at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games which begin later this month.

Lee Jones is selected for his fourth Commonwealth Games having featured at Delhi 2010, Glasgow 2014 and the Gold Coast in 2018.

It’s a historical moment for Rugby Sevens as a women’s team will represent Team Scotland for the first time, having earned an invite to Birmingham after a strong performance at the 2021 Rugby Europe Sevens Championship Series, where they earned fourth place.

This will be a first Commonwealth Games experience for the 13-strong women’s team although they will be able to take guidance in the multi-sport Games time environment from Lisa Thomson who represented Team GB at the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo last year.

Fellow Olympians Alec Coombes, Robbie Fergusson and Ross McCann are joined by Jones and Jamie Farndale, who returns to Team Scotland from the 2018 Gold Coast Games to captain the side.

The men’s selection is completed by Kaleem Barreto, Matt Davidson, Harvey Elms, Grant Hughes, Paddy Kelly, Jordan Edmunds, Jacob Henry and Femi Sofolarin.

The women’s side will be co-captained by Helen Nelson and Lisa Thomson. Their team selection is made up of a mix of experienced sevens and VXs players as well as exciting young talent. Completing their squad is Rachel McLachlan, Emma Orr, Megan Gaffney, Eilidh Sinclair, Evie Gallagher, Caity Mattinson, Chloe Rollie, Meryl Smith, Shona Campbell, Liz Musgrove and Rhona Lloyd.

On selection to his fourth Commonwealth Games Lee Jones said, “To get selected for the Commonwealth Games is such an honour and it’s hard to believe this will be my fourth. This is a really talented group and one which I hope to play a small part in the success of in Birmingham.”

Lisa Thomson said, “I’m over the moon to be selected in the first Team Scotland women’s Rugby Sevens side at the Commonwealth Games.

“As a team, we want to inspire the next generation of rugby players and to have the chance to compete on the global stage gives us the perfect opportunity to showcase our sport.

“It’s always a privilege to pull on a Scotland jersey but to be a part of Team Scotland, alongside 17 other sports while being so close to home, it’s extra special.”

Team Scotland Chef de Mission, Elinor Middlemiss said, “This is a fantastic achievement for our Rugby Sevens players.

“For the women in particular, this is a historic moment and one I know they all take great pride in – representing your country at any time is special but to be the first to represent your country in Rugby Sevens at a Commonwealth Games is extra special.

“There is real strength and depth in these squads and I look forward to watching them play at the Coventry Stadium at the end of July.”

Men’s Team Selection

Jamie Farndale (captain)

Alec Coombes

Ross McCann

Grant Hughes

Paddy Kelly

Kaleem Barreto

Robbie Fergusson

Matt Davidson

Harvey Elms

Lee Jones

Jordan Edmunds

Femi Sofolarin

Jacob Henry

Head Coach – Ciaran Beattie

Women’s Team Selection

Rachel McLachlan

Emma Orr

Megan Gaffney

Eilidh Sinclair

Evie Gallagher

Lisa Thomson (co-captain)

Helen Nelson (co-captain)

Caity Mattinson

Chloe Rollie

Meryl Smith

Shona Campbell

Liz Musgrove

Rhona Lloyd

Head Coach – Scott Forrest

The rugby sevens event will take place at Coventry Stadium from Friday 29 July – Sunday 31 July 2022.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter