Directors Elected to CGS Board

May 24, 2023

Marc Hope and Susan Jackson have been appointed to the Commonwealth Games Scotland Board of Directors following a members vote at the 2023 AGM on the evening of Tuesday 23rd May.

Marc is a sports sponsorship consultant whose successful partnerships have included Team GB, British Athletics, the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games, World Athletics and World Para Athletics Championships, the FINA World Swimming Championships and the Lawn Tennis Association.

He currently advises Access Sport, who improve the lives of disadvantaged and disabled young people across the UK, as well as the International Island Games Association, the four home nations athletics associations and Glasgow 2024 World Athletics Indoor Championships.

He is a non-executive Director on the Board of Scottish Squash, where he chairs the Finance, Commercial & HR Committee, and is a Board Director for the British Athletics Supporters Club Ltd.

Susan has served as Finance Director since her election to the Board at the 2015 AGM. She was previously the Athletes’ Representative from 2011 until 2015, following a successful sporting career that saw her represent Scotland in small bore rifle shooting at three Commonwealth Games, winning: bronze in 1998, silver in 2002 and gold in 2006.

Susan was part of the Achieve 2014 programme at the Delhi 2010 Games acting as an Athlete Mentor, allowing her to share her experiences with aspiring athletes and coaches. For the Glasgow 2014 Games she was instrumental in supporting the Organising Committee’s Athlete Representative Group. She also co-ordinated the Athletes’ First programme, with former athletes inspiring and offering support to Team Scotland members.

In her professional life, Susan is a Chartered Accountant with her family business. Previously she worked in the corporate finance team at Deloitte for 12 years before joining the Winning Scotland Foundation as a senior director.

We would like to extend our congratulations to Marc and Susan, and our thanks to the four other nominees who stood for election.

The meeting concluded with a presentation to outgoing Chair Paul Bush OBE, Vice-Chair Maureen Campbell OBE and Immediate Past Chair Michael Cavanagh OBE, all honoured with Life Membership in recognition of their outstanding contribution to CGS.

CGS would also like to thank David Bond who steps down from the Board after four years.

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter