Triathlon Image


Triathlon In The Commonwealth Games

Triathlon made its Commonwealth Games debut in 2002 at the Manchester Games and returned to the sport programme at Glasgow 2014, having not featured at the Delhi 2010 Games. It has since been elevated to a core sport and was included for 2018 along with Para-Triathlon, now an optional discipline, which made its debut in Gold Coast.

Combining three unique and challenging disciplines – swimming, cycling and running – Triathlon demonstrates the overall fitness, skill and endurance of the worlds most talented athletes.

Triathlon races are held according to the rules of the International Triathlon Union (ITU).

  • Core / Optional Optional
  • Appearances In The Games 4
  • First Games Manchester 2002
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Triathlon Medal Count:
View Medallists
  • Total: 1
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Triathlon was a demonstration sport at the 1990 Auckland Games before being granted Commonwealth sport status and included in the Games in 2002.

  • The Triathlon competition at Glasgow 2014 was held in Strathclyde County Park.

  • Bronze for Marc Austin at Gold Coast 2018 was Scotland's first Triathlon medal at a Commonwealth Games

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

In the Commonwealth Games Triathlon competition there are five medal events consisting of: Individual Women, Individual Men, Para-Triathlon PTWC Women, Para-Triathlon PTWC Men and the Mixed Team Relay.

Each nation is allowed to enter a maximum of three men and three women for the Individual events, from which it then selects two men and two women to combine for the Mixed Team Relay. Each nation is allowed to enter a maximum of two men and two women into the Para-Triathlon competition.

Learn More