Squash Image


Squash In The Commonwealth Games

Squash is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games and made its debut in Kuala Lumpur in 1998.

Squash requires a remarkable combination of decision-making, racket skills, speed, power, agility, flexibility and reflexes, but the main element is outstanding endurance – cardiovascular and muscular.

Squash has appeared at the Commonwealth Youth Games on two occasions: Edinburgh 2000 and Samoa 2015.

The Squash competition is held according to the rules of the World Squash Federation (WSF).

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Games 6
  • First Games Kuala Lumpur 1998
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Squash Medal Count:
View Medallists
  • Total: 2
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Both of Scotland's Squash medals to date came at the 1998 Games in Kuala Lumpur: Peter Nicol took gold in the Singles and a bronze in the Doubles with Stuart Cowie

  • Scotland's Alan Clyne & Greg Lobban won gold at the World Doubles Championships in 2016

  • Squash is played by more than 25 million people on nearly 50,000 courts in 185 countries around the world

  • Squash balls are unique in that they need to be ‘warmed up’ by hitting for a few minutes before play begins

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

Commonwealth Games Squash competition includes both Singles (men and women) and Doubles (men, women and mixed) events. Singles events are conducted in a knockout format, with the best two players progressing to the gold medal match.

Players knocked out in the first round of the main draw are entered into the Plate competition and players knocked out in the first round of the Plate competition are entered in the Consolation Plate competition. Players knocked out in the second round of the main draw are entered into the Classic Plate competition.

Learn More