Rugby 7s Image

Rugby 7s

Rugby Sevens In The Commonwealth Games

Rugby Sevens is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games and made its debut in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, but Manchester in 2002 was the first occasion Scotland entered a team. Rugby Sevens is also approved by the IOC as an Olympic sport and made its debut in 2016.

Rugby Sevens is a variant of Rugby Union in which only seven players per side participate in the match. It is a fast, open, exciting game, which highlights all the skills involved in the game of Rugby. Sevens is sanctioned by World Rugby and is played under substantially the same rules, and on a field of the same dimensions as the 15-player game.

Rugby Sevens has been included in the Commonwealth Youth Games on four occasions: 2004, 2011, 2015 and 2017.

Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens competition is held in accordance with the Laws of World Rugby and follows a format similar to that of all Rugby Sevens World Series events.

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Games 6
  • First Games Kuala Lumpur 1998
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Rugby 7s Medal Count:
  • Total: 0
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Women’s Rugby Sevens made its debut at the Gold Coast 2018 Games.

  • At Glasgow 2014, Rugby Sevens drew a total of 171,000 spectators - a record not just for a Commonwealth Games, but also the highest ever attendance at an internationally sanctioned rugby event at the time.

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

Teams are allocated into four pools determined by World Rugby, with teams within a pool playing each other in a round-robin format. The top two in each pool progress through to the Medal Competition whist the third and fourth placed teams contest the Bowl Competition. Both the Medal and Bowl Competitions follow a knockout format.

The winners of the Medal semi-finals contest the gold medal whilst the losers of the Medal semi-finals compete for the bronze medal. The losers of the Medal quarter-finals proceed to the Plate Competition and the losers of the Bowl quarter-finals then contest the Shield Competition.

Learn More