Netball Image


Netball In The Commonwealth Games

Netball is a Commonwealth Games core sport for women only and one of three team sports introduced in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1998.

New Zealand and Australia had won every gold medal between them until England took gold by a single goal at Gold Coast 2018. At Glasgow 2014, Scotland fielded a netball team for the first time ever, having climbed steadily up the rankings over the previous four years.

Netball follows the rules and regulations of the International Netball Federation (INF).

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Games 6
  • First Games Kuala Lumpur 1998
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Netball Medal Count:
  • Total: 0
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Only four nations have ever won Commonwealth Games medals in Netball: Australia, New Zealand, England and Jamaica

  • A Netball match has two umpires overseeing play

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

The Netball competition at the Commonwealth Games is based on two pools of teams, with selection based on world rankings. Each pool plays preliminary matches against the other teams in their pool. The top two teams in each pool qualify for the semi-finals.

As well as the gold/silver final and the bronze medal play-off, there are play-offs to determine each team’s final placing.

Learn More