Lawn Bowls Image

Lawn Bowls

Lawn Bowls In The Commonwealth Games

Lawn Bowls is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games for men and women and has been included in every Games programme with the exception of Kingston, Jamaica in 1966. Para-Bowls is now also a core discipline and featured at the 1994, 2002, 2014 and 2018 Games.

Lawn Bowls has featured twice at the Commonwealth Youth Games, making its debut at Bendigo 2004 followed by an appearance at the Samoa 2015 Games.

Commonwealth Games Lawn Bowls competition is held in accordance with the Laws of the Sport of Bowls, Crystal Mark Edition.

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Games 20
  • First Games Hamilton 1930
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Lawn Bowls Medal Count:
View Medallists
  • Total: 37
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Alex Marshall is Scotland's most successful Commonwealth Games bowler in history with 5 gold and one silver medal

  • Scotland are ranked top of the all-time Lawn Bowls medal table, ahead of England and South Africa

  • With eight Games for Scotland between 1966 and 2010, bowler Willie Wood holds the record for most Games appearances in any sport

  • Scotland’s first gold medal in Lawn Bowls was won in 1934 by Robert Sprot in the Men’s Singles

The Competition Format Image

The Competition Format

The aim of Lawn Bowls is to get your bowls as close as possible to a small white ball called the 'jack'. After a coin toss, the first bowler (the lead) places the mat and rolls the jack to the other end of the green as a target. The jack must travel at least 23m and, when it comes to rest, it is moved across to the centre of the rink. The players then take turns to bowl.

Learn More