Hockey Image


Hockey In The Commonwealth Games

Hockey is one of ten core sports in the Commonwealth Games and has been included in every Games since its debut at Kuala Lumpur 1998.

Played between two teams of 18, with 11 players per team allowed on the pitch at any one time, a game is divided into two 35 minute periods, with a ten minute interval in between. Modern Hockey is played on synthetic water based pitches.

Hockey was included at the inaugural Commonwealth Youth Games in Edinburgh in 2000. This is the sport’s only appearance at a Youth Games to date.

Hockey competitions are run according to the rules of the International Hockey Federation (FIH).

  • Core / Optional Core
  • Appearances In The Games 6
  • First Games Kuala Lumpur 1998
  • Most Recent Games Gold Coast 2018
Team Scotland’s Hockey Medal Count:
  • Total: 0
  • Asset 3
  • Asset 2
  • Asset 1

Did You Know?

  • Australia's men have dominated the sport, winning gold at every Games to date. Their women have won gold on all but two occasions – silver at Gold Coast 2018 and bronze in 2002.

  • Scotland's highest placing in Hockey was a 5th place finish by the women's team at Melbourne 2006.

Competition Format Image

Competition Format

In the Commonwealth Games Hockey competition each squad is allowed to have 18 athletes. Both the men's and women's competition format consists of a pool stage where teams play each other in a round-robin tournament. On completion of the pool fixtures, the top team in each pool plays the team second in the other pool with the winners contesting the final and the losers contesting the bronze medal.

Essential skills for playing hockey are the ability to control, pass, push, stop and hit the ball. Stick work is impressive to watch, as players with good stick skills can maintain control of the ball while sprinting the length of the field, weaving through the sticks and legs of defending players to create space.

Learn More