CGS Attracts New Board Members

November 7, 2011

Following the Commonwealth Games Scotland (CGS) AGM last May, and the decision taken to enhance the existing Board structure by recruiting a number of non-executive directors to specialist posts, CGS is pleased to announce that this process is now complete.

In addition to the positions of Chairman, Vice- Chairman, Immediate Past Chairman and four Executive members appointed in May 2011, four independent non-executive directors have now been appointed to the Board to complement the skill set of its existing members. These are Finance Director, Director of Marketing & Communications and Director of Corporate Governance & Compliance and a further non-executive Director. All of these positions have been filled through an open recruitment process and are for the remainder of the current four year cycle.

Welcoming the new members to the Board, Chairman Michael Cavanagh commented: “I am delighted to welcome all our new members to the Board. They have a vast range of skills and experience between them, which will add greatly to the work of our Board and ensure that we make a significant contribution as a Games partner to key areas of planning and preparation for the 2014 Games at one of the most exciting periods in our 81 year history. They are all busy individuals in their own right and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for their interest, commitment and passion in Commonwealth Games.

“I look forward to working with our extended new Board to ensure we have our most successful Games ever in Glasgow in 2014, underpinned by a strong platform for the future.”

Already voted in as an executive director at the AGM, Peter Nicolson has now been appointed as the new Finance Director, following a previous successful term as Treasurer. His executive director post will be filled by Leslie Roy for a two year term.

Leslie Roy has a long time association with Commonwealth Games since 2000. She brings a wealth of experience from her role as Athletics Team Manager in 2002 and 2006 and is now President of Scottish Athletics. For the Commonwealth Youth Games of 2000, 2004 and 2008 she was part of the General Team Management. In Delhi 2010, Leslie was an Assistant General Team Manager organising all transport and logistics for Team Scotland.

Joining the Board as Director of Corporate Governance and compliance is Professor Leigh Robinson, an international expert in sport governance and management, Leigh is the Chair in Sports Management to the School of Sport at the University of Stirling where her principal research is on organisational performance, investigating principles of management that make sport more effective.

Jane Gotts has been appointed as Director of Marketing and Communication. Jane is International Director of Scottish Council for Development and Industry as well as Programme Director of BusinessClub Scotland. She brings a wealth of experience in marketing, communicating and business in Scotland and throughout the Commonwealth.

Paul Bush OBE has been appointed as the fourth Non-executive Director. Chief Operating Officer for Event Scotland, Paul has led the development of Scotland as one of the world’s leading events destinations, delivering Scotland’s Major Events Strategy. At previous Commonwealth Games, Paul held the voluntary positions of General Team Manager (2002) and Chef de Mission (2006). At the Delhi 2010 Games, he was Director of Scotland House.

To complete the Board team, an Athlete Representative, Honorary Medical Adviser and Honorary Legal Adviser are also being appointed to provide support in these key areas.

There to ensure that an athlete focus remains at the core of the organisation’s thinking and planning, CGS is delighted to welcome Susan Jackson as the Athlete Representative. Susan represented Scotland in small bore rifle shooting at three Commonwealth Games, medalling in each, winning: bronze in 1998; silver in 2002; and, gold in 2006. During the 2010 Games she was an athlete mentor for the CGS Achieve 2014 programme. In her professional life, Susan is a Senior Director of the Winning Scotland Foundation.

Joan Watt has been appointed as Honorary Medical Adviser for a third term. A chartered physiotherapist Joan was first elected to the Commonwealth Games Scotland Board in 2003. In addition, Joan has contributed to Scottish Commonwealth Games teams in her role as physiotherapist at each Games since 1982 and was Senior Physiotherapist in 1994 and Joint Head Physiotherapist in 1998. In 2006 and 2010 Joan was the Shooting Team Leader.

The appointment of the Honorary Legal Adviser is still ongoing.

sportscotland the national agency for sport will also continue to be represented by Chief Executive, Stewart Harris as an observer to the Board. This has been the practice for a number of Games cycles and is common practice for the partners it supports.

CGS Board

Chairman – Michael Cavanagh
Vice-Chairman – Fiona McEwan
Immediate Past Chairman – Louise Martin CBE

Executive Directors:
Maureen Campbell (4 year term)
Jackie Davidson (2 year term)
Niall Sturrock (4 year term)
Leslie Roy (2 year term)

Non-Executive Directors:
Paul Bush OBE
Marketing and Communications – Jane Gotts
Finance – Peter Nicolson
Corporate Governance & Compliance – Professor Leigh Robinson
Board Advisers:
Athletes Representative – Susan Jackson
Honorary Medical Adviser – Joan Watt
Honorary Legal Adviser – TBC

Board Observer:
Stewart Harris, sportscotland

Join the club

Subscribe to our newsletter