Awards Winners

The Team Scotland Scottish Sports Awards celebrate the best of Scottish sport, recognising those whose success on the international stage or dedication behind the scenes makes Scotland such a proud sporting nation. See listed below our past award winners, including recipients of the prestigious Emirate Lonsdale Trophy and Sir Peter Heatly Trophy.

Award Winners 2017

  • Scottish Sportsperson of the Year – Sammi Kinghorn, Para-Athletics
  • Male Athlete of the Year – Duncan Scott, Swimming
  • Female Athlete of the Year – Laura Muir, Athletics
  • Para-Sport Athlete of the Year – Sammi Kinghorn, Para-Athletics
  • Team of the Year – Scotland Women’s Football
  • Coach of the Year – Andy Young, Athletics
  • Sporting Moment of the Year – Josh Taylor’s defence of Commonwealth title against Ohara Davies
  • Young Athlete of the Year – Ieuan James, Canoe Sprint
  • Volunteer of the Year – Richard Brickley MBE, Disability Sport
  • Governing Body of the Year – Scottish Athletics
  • Community Hub, Club or School of the Year – Drumchapel Community Sports Hub
  • Games Legacy Award – Active East – Scottish Sports Futures
  • Lifetime Achievement – Gavin Hastings OBE, Rugby
  • Team Scot of the Year – Judy Murray OBE, Tennis
  • Special Recognition Award – Celtic Football Club

View 2016 Winners

Past Lonsdale Trophy Winners

The Lonsdale Trophy was originally a single solid silver trophy presented to the Commonwealth Games Federation. This was later melted down with replicas presented to each of the six countries that attended the first two Games in 1930 and 1934, which included Scotland.

In 2003 the Commonwealth Games Scotland proposed that Scottish sportspeople were recognised for their achievements and it was agreed to annually present the Lonsdale Trophy to the Scottish Sportsperson of the Year in a Commonwealth Games sport. The Lonsdale Trophy was first presented at the Commonwealth Games Scotland Sports Awards Dinner the same year.

Over the last few years the award has been supported by Emirates Airline and known as the Emirates Lonsdale Trophy.

 Image  Image  Image
Year Award Winner Representing Sport
2017 Sammi Kinghorn Para-Athletics
2016 Andy Murray Tennis
2015 Robbie Renwick Swimming
2014 Alex Marshall Lawn Bowls
2013 Andy Murray Tennis
2012 Sir Chris Hoy Cycling
2011 Imogen Bankier Badminton
2010 Hannah Miley Swimming
2009 Katherine Grainger Rowing
2008 Chris Hoy Cycling
2007 Chris Hoy Cycling
2006 Gregor Tait Swimming
2005 Chris Hoy Cycling
2004 Chris Hoy Cycling
2003 Chris Hoy Cycling

Athletes or Teams nominated must be from a Commonwealth Games member sport during the award period. Athletes nominated must have been eligible to represent Scotland / GB over the award period. Nominations are sought annually from all 26 CGS member governing bodies for consideration by the judging panel.

Past Sir Peter Heatly Trophy Winners

Awarded annually to the Young Sportsperson of the Year, the Sir Peter Heatly Trophy recognises the most meritorious performance by a Scottish athlete under the age of 20.

For over 65 years Sir Peter Heatly was central to Commonwealth Games Scotland (CGS) and the Commonwealth Games family worldwide, making an immense contribution to sport, and in particular, the Commonwealth Games movement in Scotland and beyond.  

As an athlete he represented Great Britain at the 1948 London Olympics and won five Commonwealth Games medals for Scotland including three gold in Diving between 1950 and 1958.  

In 1958 he was the Scotland Team Captain, and as an administrator, he then filled every role for the Scottish Team from Team Manager through to Chef de Mission.  He attended every Games from 1950 through to the Glasgow 2014 Games when they returned to Scotland.  

Sir Peter was a central figure on the Organising Committee of the 1970 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh, serving as Chairman of CGS and later of the Commonwealth Games Federation, later becoming a CGF Life Vice President. Sir Peter was also Chairman of the Scottish Sports Council (now sportscotland) and an inaugural inductee of the Scottish Sports Hall of Fame. 

In 2013 the family of Sir Peter kindly donated a trophy, which since 2014 has been awarded to the outstanding Young Sportsperson of the Year from a Commonwealth Games sport.

Year Award Winner Representing Sport
2017 Ieuan James Canoe Sprint
2016 Maria Lyle Para-Athletics
2015 Duncan Scott Swimming
2014 Katie Archibald Cycling